US Open

Van Boening Takes 8-Ball & All Around at 24th Annual U.S. Bar Table Championship

CueSports International, Henderson, NV (Dec. 16, 2017) — Shane Van Boening double-dipped James Aranas of the Philippines to win the 8-Ball Division of the U.S. Bar Table Championship Saturday, locking up the All-Around title for the third time.


Van Boening won the 9-Ball Division and took second in the 10-Ball Division earlier this week. He also won the All-Around title in 2008 and 2010.

Van Boening came into the finals from the one-loss side of the bracket. He started the tournament with wins over: Ernesto Dominguez, 5-1; Dave Strachan, 5-0; Dennis Orcollo, 5-3; Max Eberle, 5-4; before losing to Jesse Engle, 4-5. On the B-Side of the bracket, he bested; Mitch Ellerman, 5-1; Skyler Woodward, 5-3; and Jesse Engel, 5-2 to make it to the finals. Van Boening met Aranas in the finals and beat him 5-1 in the first set, to force a second set in the true double-elimination tournament.


Aranas’ went into the finals undefeated, beating: Michael Tonsowny, 5-0; Andrew Wroblewski, 5-3; Marshall Hill, 5-2; Mitch Ellerman, 5-2; Skyler Woodward, 5-0; and Jesse Engel, 5-3. But he was unable to beat Van Boening in the finals.



1. Shane Van Boening           $4,000

2. James Aranas                      $2,300

3. Jesse Engel                           $1,500

4. Sky Woodward                                     $1,000

5. Mitch Ellerman                   $700

6. Max Eberle                           $700

7. Dennis Orcollo                     $450

8. Jason Klatt                            $450

9. Oscar Dominguez              $300

10. Shaun Wilkie                     $300

11. Demetrius Jelatis             $300

12. Jeremy Edwards              $300

13. Amar Kang                         $200

14. George Walters                $200

15. Matt Hill                              $200

16. Josh Smith                          $200

17. Vilmos Foldes                   $150

18. Mark Tademy                                    $150

19. Vinnie Calabrese              $150

20. Zhou Zhau                          $150

21. Sean Lewis                         $150

22. Marshall Hill                      $150

23. Ace Brown                          $150

24. James Blackburn              $150

In the Women’s Division, Arizona’s Bernie Store was undefeated to win the title of 2017 US Bar Table Women’s 8-Ball Champion.


Store’s path to the finals included wins over: Alicia Huff, 4-2; Jessica Frideres, 4-3; Rachel Lang, 4-3; and Tian Tian, 4-3.


Jessica Frideres, who won the 9-Ball Division, came through the one loss side to meet Store in the finals. Frideres won her first match of the tournament against Amanda Stevens, 4-0, before Store sent her to the losers bracket, 4-3. On the B-side, Frideres bested: Molly Oliver, 4-0; Karen Poitra, 4-2; Jennifer Shumaker, 4-1; Rachel Lang, 4-0; and Tian Tian, 4-2. But Frideres wouldn’t be able to overcome Store in the finals, where she lost 4-1.


Payouts: 1. Bernie Store, $850; Jessica Frideres, $500; Tian Tian, $300; and Rachel Lang, $200.

Frideres’ second place finish earned her enough to second the Women’s All-Around title and $500 bonus.


The 24th US Bar Table Championships concluded Saturday at the Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino.

CueSports International

CSI is the parent company of the BCA Pool League and the USA Pool League. CSI also produces independent events like the US Bar Table Championships, US Open 10-Ball Championship, US Open 8-Ball Championship, and much more. For more information, visit or call CSI at p702-719-POOL.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button