38th Annual US Open 9-Ball Underway


The 38th edition of the U.S. Open 9-ball Championships returned to Chesapeake last Sunday, with 170 of the world’s top billiards players in attendance. The tournament which runs until Saturday has a 1st place prize of $30,000.
The original 9-ball championships began with a 16-player field that gathered 1976 at the original Q-Master Billiards in Norfolk. The defending champion Shane Van Boening of South Dakota is the man to beat, but there are a wide range of talent from all over the world.
Our Canadian contingent is off to a good start with the Bonus Ball Team (Toronto Blue Sharks) John Morra, Jason Klatt and Erik Hjorleifson each moving into the 3rd round without a loss.  The experienced Mario Morra was not so fortunate as he suffered a 2nd round loss to Earl Strickland. Earl is a five time winner of this event and recently took the Turning Stone title last month.
CLICK HERE to access the Pay-Per-View live streaming provided by Accu-Stats Video Productions.
CLICK HERE for Tournament Brackets and Live Scoring provided by
The previous winners of this event are:

2012 Shane Van Boening
2011 Darren Appleton
2010 Darren Appleton
2009 Mika Immonen
2008 Mika Immonen
2007 Shane Van Boening
2006 John Schmidt
2005 Alex Pagulayan
2004 Gabe Owen
2003 Jeremy Jones
2002 Ralf Souquet
2001 Corey Deuel
2000 Earl Strickland
1999 Johnny Archer
1998 Buddy Hall
1997 Earl Strickland
1996 Rodney Morris
1995 Reed Pierce
1994 Efren Reyes
1993 Earl Strickland
1992 Tommy Kennedy
1991 Buddy Hall
1990 Nick Varner
1989 Nick Varner
1988 Mike Lebron
1987 Earl Strickland
1986 David Howard
1985 Jimmy Reid
1984 Earl Strickland
1983 Mike Sigel
1982 David Howard
1981 Allen Hopkins
1980 Mike Sigel
1979 Louie Roberts
1978 Steve Mizerak
1977 Allen Hopkins
1976 Mike Sigel


Related Articles

Back to top button