Joss Northeast 9-Ball

Dechaine holds off Oliveira for Joss Tour Win

Home field advantage proved to be helpful at the Joss NE 9-Ball Tour’s 3rd Annual New England Pool & Billiards Hall Of Fame Ray Desell Memorial 9-Ball Open held on March 3rd and 4th at Snooker’s Billiards in Providence, RI as housepro Mike Dechaine held off a late charge to win the event.
Dechaine made his way through the field of 71 players and it looked like it would be another easy tournament for “The Fireball” when he defeated Hunter Lombardo 9-3 for the hot-seat. Hunter then fell to Nelson Oliveira on the one loss side 9-5. Oliveira had lost a match to Jeremy Sossei on Saturday and had battled his way to the finals via the long route.

Mike Dechaine
The first set of the double elimination finals was a close one and the players found themselves tied at 7-7 when Dechaine got the chance he was waiting for. An Oliveira scratch on the break let Dechaine to the table with the chance to get to the hill first, but Dechaine was unable to take advantage and clear the rack. Oliveira ended up winning that game and the next to win the first set 9-7.
Dechaine came out strong in the second set and lead 3-0 and 4-1, but Oliveira came back and again tied the match at 7-7. This time, the tables were turned, and it was Dechaine winning the final two games for the 9-7 win and first place in the tournament.
The second chance tournament on Sunday drew 25 players and Rich Britt defeated Stacie Bourbeau for the hot-seat and again in the finals to earn first place.
The Joss NE 9-Ball Tour will be back in action at Trick Shot Billiards in Clifton Park, NY in two weeks (March 17-18) for their next event. Zuglan is now taking entries for the season finale at the Turning Stone Casino in Verona, NY on August 23 – 26. These always fill up and players are turned away. Get your entries in now to avoid missing out.
Open Event Payouts
1st Mike Dechaine $1,600.00
2nd Nelson Oliviera $1,200.00
3rd Hunter Lombardo $800.00
4th Jeremy Sossei $600.00
5th Rob Piersa $400.00
5th Mike Davis $400.00
7th Tom D’Alfonso $300.00
7th Ron Casanzio $300.00
9th Bucky Souvanthong $200.00
9th Jarrod Clowery $200.00
9th Phil Davis $200.00
9th Joe Dupuis $200.00
13th Billy Lanna $100.00
13th Matt Tetreault $100.00
13th Stacie Bourbeau $100.00
13th Brent Boemmels $100.00
Second Chance Payouts
1st Rich Britt $360.00
2nd Stacie Bourbeau $260.00
3rd Doug Brown $160.00
4th Steve Goulding $100.00
5th Steve Mack $60.00
5th Dave Gavrich $60.00

AZBilliards was first launched in 1998 to cover the Arizona pool scene. AZ is now the leading source for billiards news in North America.

Related Articles

Back to top button