“Maharaja” Majid terminates “The Terminator” Feijen

Ups and downs on the main table in Sarajevo
Imran Majid (GBR) was triumphant with 9:6 over Niels Feijen (NED).
The match was characterized by two major turning points. Majid had the better start and took a quick 4:1 lead over Feijen. In the 6th rack, he should have made the score 5:1 in his favour but he missed and easy 7-ball. That was the first turning point of the match. Feijen accepted the gift and took a time out in order to get his game together. He came back after two minutes and seemed to be completely changed. He played much more confident and got into stroke much better.

Imran Majid (GBR) Foto: EPBF/AMM

He even managed to gain a 5:4 lead over Majid who seemed to struggle at the time. Then, Majid got back into the game, taking two racks to advance over Feijen with 6:5. In the 12th rack, the second turning point happened. Feijen had won a safety battle and played a negligent position from the 8-ball which left him a difficult but makeable shot on the 9-ball. He missed the 9-ball. Instead of 6:6, the score was now 7:5 in favour of “The Maharaja”. The end of the match unfolded as a maximum penalty for Feijen. He broke the 13th rack, no ball went in and the layout was perfect for Majid who ran the rack, getting on the hill 8:5. Then, with his own break shot coming up, Majid broke perfectly and ran the rack, winning the match 9:5, leaving a frustrated Niels Feijen.
Results Last 32 Players
Tony Drago (MLT) v Phil Burford (GBR) 5:9
Imran Majid (GBR) v Niels Feijen (NED) 9:5
Mateusz Sniegocki (POL) v Chris Melling (GBR) 7:9
Konstantin Stepanov (RUS) v David Alcaide (ESP) 9:3
Denis Grabe (EST) v Manuel Gama (POR) 7:9
Albin Ouschan (AUT) v Ruslan Chinakhov (RUS) 9:7
Sven Pauritsch (GER) v Oliver Ortmann (GER) 3:9
Nicolas Ottermann (GER) v Darren Appleton (GBR) 2:9
Nick v.d. Berg (NED) v Andreas Gerwen (SWE) 9:4
Roman Hybler (CZE) v Nikos Ekonomopoulos (GRE) 5:9
Mieszko Fortunski (POL) v Mattey Ullah (NOR) 9:8
Karol Skowerski (POL) v Stefan Gruber (GER) 9:2
Bruno Muratore (ITA) v Karlo Dalmatin (CRO) 9:6
Daryl Peach (GBR) v Serge Das (BEL) 9:5
Fabio Petroni (ITA) v Stephan Cohen (FRA) 5:9
Dimitri Jungo (SUI) v Manuel Ederer (GER) 9:8
Last 16 Players:
Phil Burford (GBR) v Imran Majid (GBR)
Chris Melling (GBR) v Konstantin Stepanov (RUS)
Manuel Gama (POR) v Albin Ouschan (AUT)
Oliver Ortmann (GER) v Darren Appleton (GBR)
Nick v.d. Berg (NED) v Nikos Ekonomopoulos (GRE)
Mieszko Fortunski (POL) v Karol Skowerski (POL)
Bruno Muratore (ITA) v Daryl Peach (GBR)
Stephan Cohen (FRA) v Dimitri Jungo (SUI)
The round of the last 16 players starts on Saturday, March 3rd, at 10:00 local time.
The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website , follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office.

Related Articles

Back to top button