EPBF Newsletter March 2013

The Dynamic Billard European Championships 2013…
…for Men, Women and Wheelchair athletes are approaching fast. The venue will be the Grand Hotel Metropol in Portoroz, Slovenia. Due to circumstances beyond anyone’s control, the venue had to be shifted at the very last minute. “I’m happy that together with FIBIS, we were able to find this beautiful venue in Slovenia”, says Gre Leenders, President of the EPBF. “I have visited it and I’m sure that our games will be hosted there in an amicable and proper environment”. The Organiser of the EC is FIBIS, the Italian member to the EPBF. As EC partner, the Slovenian Federation will do its best to support the EC and its hosting. The EC will be played on 24 Dynamic III match tables. There will be Live Streaming of up to 24 tables through the EPBF partner Kozoom. Portoroz will be Europe’s Billiard capitol from April 10 – 20, 2013. For further information please visit the event website
The WPA Rules of Play…
…will be revised and updated this year. The EPBF Sports Director and WPA Board Member, Anamaria Matesic, is in charge of the huge task to combine the needs of the various regions and continents and has to find out where changes and amendments are needed and what needs to be redefined. In order to be able to do so, she will definitely need the cooperation of the rules’ experts of the various EPBF member federations. “The rules have been implemented by January 1st, 2008. They were meant to remain unchanged until December 31st, 2012. Therefore, a 5-year moratorium was put in force by the WPA. That has ended last year. For administrative reasons, we were not able to approach this issue earlier. But it is an important issue and it will be dealt with during 2013. If you would like to have your say in the next version of the WPA Rules of Play, please contact me and send me your input”, says Matesic. Please send your input to Anamaria no later than May 1st, 2013.
The Election of the Player of the Year 2012…
NEWS…is currently going on. Five players have been nominated by the EPBF for the title: Nataliya Seroshtan (RUS), Kamila Khodjaeva (BEL), Nick van den Berg (NED), Dominic Jentsch (GER) and Henrik Larsson (SWE). A website just for the purpose has been created and can be viewed at So far, around 2.500 people have cast their vote to their favourite player. After the public voting has finished on March 15th, the EPBF member’s votes and the Board & Sponsor’s votes will be added. The final result will be disclosed during this year’s European Championships in Portoroz, Slovenia.
The EPBF General Assembly…
…will be held during the Dynamic Billard European Championships in Slovenia. Among other important issues, the election for the EPBF’s Board of Directors, the Court of Arbitration and the Internal Auditors will be held. Many important issues will be on the agenda of the meeting which is held every two years only. Assigned delegates from each EPBF National Member Federation will meet on April 19th and discuss all issues which have been added to the agenda. Besides technical necessities, four new member federations are knocking on the door to become full members of the EPBF. They are: Cyprus Pocket Billiard Federation, Koninklijke Nederlands Biljartbond, Real Federacion Espanola de Billard and Federacao Portuguesa de Bilhar. It can be expected that these federations will become new family members to the EPBF during the GA meeting.

Related Articles

Back to top button