And the champion is…… PEACH !

Peach turns the final around and terminates “The Terminator”
In a final match that was second to none with regards to action, Daryl Peach (GBR) eliminated Niels Feijen (NED) with 8:7. It was kind of a rematch between Feijen and Peach. A few weeks ago, they met in the final of the Benelux Open. Back then, Peach had the better end and defeated Feijen so that the Dutch had to settle for second place. And the same destiny awaited him today.

Champion Daryl Peach (GBR)

After some high class pool, Feijen was 7:3 ahead and it looked as if no-one could take the title away from him anymore. But one shot turned the match for Daryl Peach. In the 11th rack, Feijen played a nice safe and Peach could not even see the 1-ball. Peach took his time and measured all the angles… and called the 10-ball in the corner pocket. He then shot the cue ball in the side cushion, kicked into the 1-ball which kicked into the 10-ball… and made it in the called pocket! What a shot! “Sometimes when you are standing with your back against the wall, you have to go for these shots”, said Peach after the final. “I knew I could still get him”. That shot probably caused two things: Peach’s self confidence rose to the sky and Feijen started thinking. As the match went along, Feijen committed two easy mistakes while Peach played second to none. He tied the match at 7:7. In the 15th rack, both players exchanged safety shots. It was again Feijen who left a shot for Peach. The Brit took his chance and completed his marvelous comeback, winning the match with 8:7 and taking the tournament title. “I always believed that I could win this match, even when I was trailing 3:7”, said Peach with a smile…
Final standings Top 16 Dynamic Billiard Germany Open:

1. Daryl Peach GBR 3.400,- €
2. Niels Feijen NED 2.200,- €
3. Artem Koshovyi UKR 1.400,- €
Oliver Ortmann GER 1.400,- €
5. Mark Gray
Jayson Shaw
1.000,- €
1.000,- €
David Alcaide ESP 1.000,- €
Radoslaw Babica
Albin Ouschan
1.000,- €
900,- €
Ralf Souquet GER 900,- €
Dominic Jentsch GER 900,- €
Karol Skowerski
Manuel Gama
900,- €
900,- €
Andreas Gerwen SWE 900,- €
Mariusz Skoneczny POL 900,- €
Tomasz Kaplan POL 900,- €

All feature matches that have been played on table 24 can be viewed by premium pass holders in the video gallery on the Kozoom website  That concludes the coverage of the men’s Dynamic Billiard Germany Open Euro-Tour 2012. Matches of the women’s Dynamic Billiard Germany Open Euro-Tour 2012 will continue tomorrow at 09:00 CET.
The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website , follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office.

Related Articles

Back to top button