404 9-Ball Tour

New Year Brings New Faces to the 404 Tour

Wayne Tate
The first stop of 2012 for the 404 Tour was held January 7-8th at Shooters Billiards and Sports Club in Toronto, Ontario. A maxed out field of 64 players showed up for the event.
There were a few surprises in the first round with some of the top ranked players moving to the B-side early. The list included, Al Logan (10), John Timmerman (9), Robin Bass (9) and the reigning champion John Morra (12). John Morra was eventually sent home for the first time in 5 events courtesy of Dean McNaughton. At the end of Saturday’s play, there were 4 undefeated players on the A-Side, Gene Jim (6), Wayne Tate (7), Glen Seesman (7) and Justin Leyland (8). There were 8 players remaining on the B-side.
Sunday began on the B-Side with Rodney Barrington getting the best of Jaypee Castillo, while Ephram Day handed a loss to Scott MacDonald. In the lower B-bracket, Erik Hjorleifson and Mario Morra both won their matches over Ed Reyes and Alan Ada. This set up a match between only two remaining top ranked players (11’s) in the tournament…Hjorleifson and Morra. It was Morra who won the hill-hill match after Erik pocketed the 9-ball only to see the cue ball drop at the other end of the table.
On the A-Side, Wayne Tate won over Gene Jim and Justin Leyland beat Glen Seesman to set up the A side finals. In the match for the hot seat, Wayne jumped out to early lead and made it to hill very quickly. Justin managed to put a couple racks together but then came up empty on his break, leaving Wayne a clear shot at the one and took advantage by running out to win the match 7–3.
Justin Leyland

The focus now turns back to the B-Side where Mario Morra continued with wins over Glen Seesman, Ephram Day and Justin Leyland to get a chance at the title. Mario was in stroke and there was no stopping him. He secured his second title of the season, winning the final match against Wayne Tate with a convincing 11-2 score.
This is how they finished:
1st – Mario Morra – $900
2nd – Wayne Tate – $560
3rd – Justin Leyland – $410
4th – Ephram Day – $280
5-6th – Gene Jim – $190
5-6th – Glen Seesman – $190
7-8th – Erik Hjorleifson – $130
7-8th – Rodney Barrington – $130
9-12th – Scott MacDonald – $90
9-12th – Jaypee Castillo – $90
9-12th – Ed Reyes – $90
9-12th – Alan Ada – $90
Tournament Winner - Mario Morra

1st – $980
2nd – $620
3rd – $370
4th – $260
5-6th – $120
5-6th – $120

Related Articles

Back to top button