Four Bears 8-Ball Classic Results

Some of the best players in the country showed up to participate in the 21st Annual 4-Bears 8-Ball Classic, April 19th-22nd, 2012 held at the 4-Bears Casino in New Town, ND.
Thursday’s $3,000 added 9-ball mini tournament didn’t turnout to be so mini with 86 players signed up before the 5 PM deadline. The field consisted of many of the top pros and amateurs from across the country. In the finals it was pros, Jeff Beckley who won the host-seat match and John Morra winner of the loser’s side match. Morra would have to win 2-sets races to 9 to win the title and was up for the challenge by winning the 1st set 9-4. In the second set, Beckley rallied back to win 9-7 and earn his first 4-Bears Classic title and a purse of $1,300.00.
By Thursday’s 5:00 PM deadline, 128-players had maxed out the field abandoning some extra players, so the committee decided to open up the field so that ALL 149-players could participate in this year’s main event.
In the $10,000 added 8-ball main event, players from 14-states and 4-Canadian providences which included some of the top rated professionals in pool; Shane Vanboening, Stevie Moore, John Morra, Brandon Shuff, Shane McMinn, Jeff Beckley, Jesse Engel and Mark Haddad.
Jeff Beckley, Reno Open 8-ball winner and just winning the 9-ball classic had his eyes set on winning back-to-back-to back championships, which proved to be a little too much by exiting early with a 24th-32nd fiish in the 8-ball event. However Beckley wasn’t the only professional to exit early, Shane Vanboening and defending champion Lee Huewagon also failed to make the money and/or the final 32-redraw.
Mark Haddad of Colorado and Jesse Engel of Minnesota paired up in the 8-ball championship final match. Mark who went undefeated though the winner’s side brackets and Jesse winning from the 1-lose side bracket, and once again just like the 9-ball event Jesse would have to beat mark twice to win the title. Jesse proved he had a shot at the title winning the 1st match 7-4. Mark’s strong play continued as he won the second set 7-4 to win the title, cash and was awarded an embroidered jacket for his efforts.
The women’s division was just as tough which included some of the best players from North & South Dakotas, Montana and two top WPBA touring professionals Nicole Kenney and Melissa little. But in the end it came down to Melissa and Nicole in the finals. And just like the men’s event Nicole would have to beat Melissa twice, in two-sets race to 5 to win the championships. The first TV match went to Nicole winning 5-3 and in the second match Nicole squeaked by with another 5-3 win over Melissa to win the championship and 1st place purse of $1,500.00
The committee would like to thank all of the players who played is this years championships, Big Truck from Texas for televising the Internet matches, all the vendors and sponsors. And a special thanks to our host; The Four Bears Casino and Lodge, including all of their employees and general manager Pat Packinuea.
9-Ball Payouts:
1st Jeff Beckley $1,533.00
2nd John Morra $1,022.00
3rd Mark Haddad $730.00
4th Brandon Shuff $511.00
5th Stan Tourangeau $438.00
6th Shane Van Boening $438.00
7th Stevie Moore $366.00
8th Shane McMinn $366.00
8-Ball Payouts:
1st Mark Haddad $4,500.00
2nd Jesse Engel $2,500.00
3rd Danny Olson $1,500.00
4th Eric Durbin $1,000.00
5th Brady Gollan $700.00
6th Gene Albreght $700.00
7th Michael Perron JR $550.00
8th Danny Watson $550.00
Ladies 8-Ball Payouts:
1st Nicole Keeney $1,500.00
2nd Melissa Little $1,000.00
3rd Timi Bloomberg $700.00
4th Val Wilhelmi $500.00
5th Stephanie Barnes $300.00
6th Rachael Nadeau $300.00
7th Julie Bruenell $200.00
8th Mary Plante $200.00

Related Articles

Back to top button